About the Department

During the course of an institutional self study under the stewardship of Dr. Chandran D.S. Devanesen, the first Indian Principal of the college, Political Science as an academic discipline was introduced at the master’s level in 1963. In 1965, the Department of Politics and Public Administration, headed by Dr M.Abel, was born out of the erstwhile Department of History and Politics. In the year 1967, Political Science was introduced at the Bachelor’s level. In 1981, Dr. A. Mantramurti became the head of the Department after Dr. M. Abel, who retired as the Principal of the college. Later in the same year the nomenclature was changed to Department of Political Science and Public Administration. In 1985 the composite Department was bifurcated into two independent Departments, viz. Department of Political Science and Department Of Public Administration. The Department of Political Science was continued to be headed by Dr. A. Mantramurti, till he became Principal of the college in 1999. The Department was headed by Prof. Ravindernath Chanana since 1999 to 2002, Dr. J. Ramesh Sundar, 2002 to 2014, Dr. A Subraminian, 2014 to 2015, Dr. Crobsy Vijayakumar, from 2015 to 2017. Currently the department is headed by Dr. K. Palani.

The Department has an illustrious record of professors who had served as faculty in the likes of Rev. Duncan Forrester, Prof. Padmavati Arumugam, Dr. S.Krishnasamy, Prof. S.N.Balasundaram, Prof. Ms. Mercy David, Dr. R. Stephen Samuel, Dr. Julius Karunakaran, Dr. M. Suresh Babu, Dr. S.Jeevenendam, Dr. P.Ebenezer Benjamin, Dr. M. Jabaraulla Khan, Dr. D. William Gnansekaran, Dr. Kingsley Alfred Chandrasekar, Mr. A. Ravi Kumar, Mr. P.W.C. Davidar, Mr. Gunashankar and Mr. Sudharshan.


Programmes Offered: B.A., M.A., M.Phil. and Ph.D 

Programmes Offered

B.A, M.A, M.Phil


20180920 125132 Dr. W. Lawrence S. Prabhakar India    
K. Palani
Head of the Department
W. Lawrence S. Prabhakar
Associate Professor
S. D. Christopher Chandran
Associate Professor
N. M. Hariharan
Associate Professor
 R. Sridhar
Associate Professor
 S. Sudha
Associate Professor
 J. Diviyan
Assistant Professor
 R. Vidya
Assistant Professor
Ashik J. Bonofer
Assistant Professor
Haans J. Freddy
Assistant Professor 
Adarsh Vijay
Assistant Professor







National Conference on Ethics in Higher Education

Organised by

Department of Political Science,

Madras Christian College

 in association with

Globethics.net and Journal of Dharma.


November 30 and December 1, 2018.


Agnes Martin Hall,

Madras Christian College, Tambaram, Chennai – 600 059


Department Events


Contact Us

Madras Christian College

Tambaram, Chennai -600 059,

Tamil Nadu, India

Phone: 044-22390675 / 22396772

Fax: 044-22394352

Email: principal@mcc.edu.in